PAX 2022

6-120 (MIT)



B Sathyaprakash (PSU), Emanuele Berti (JHU), Marie Woods (MIT), Salvatore Vitale (MIT Kavli and LIGO)

Motivation: In the last few months, three major events have increased the urgency to plan for Next-Generation (NG)  ground-based gravitational-wave detectors.
The completion of the Cosmic Explorer Horizon Study, the inclusion of the Einstein Telescope in the 2021 ESFRI Roadmap, and the strong recommendations in the Astro 2020 decadal, all show that the time is now ripe for discussing the potential and challenges associated with NG detectors.

The purpose of PAX-VIII is to better understand what can be done with NG observatories, and what are the factors that could limit their scientific potential. PAX is largely a discussion-based workshop with very strong involvement of participants. 
To enhance discussion and engagement, the participants list is capped at 100, including SOC members and panelists. 

Details: As of now, we expect the meeting to happen in person at MIT, over a 3 day period, with sessions in the morning and afternoon. Given that the situation with Covid is still volatile, participants are encouraged to make reservations which can be easily canceled. To keep PAX free of registration fees, this will not be an hybrid workshop as we won't have person power to stream audio and video in a consistent way. Should we be obliged to move to an online-only version, we would hold PAX over a 5 day period, with sessions in the morning only (Boston time zone) 

We encourage participants to explore lodging options (including AirBnB) in areas around Cambridge (e.g. Brookline, Boston and Somerville). Lodging around MIT has unfortunately become expensive enough that it might be significantly more convenient to stay farther away and take a bus/metro/uber to MIT. All sessions are in building 6 room 120, in main campus. The closest metro stop is "Kendall" on the red line, 5 minutes walk from the venue. The bus 1 goes up and down Massachusetts Avenue, and has a stop in front of MIT's main entrance.

PAX 2022 is kindly supported by the NSF through the award PHY-2228849 and by the MIT Kavli Institute.  

Accessing MIT: you should have received an email with a link that explains how to get a visitor pass. If you haven't, please let us know. Not all doors can be used with the pass (called Tim Ticket). If you come from Massachusetts Avenue, the most convenient entry point is building 7. If you come from Kendall Square, the most convenient access point is building 16. 

Food near the venue: please see this google document 

Organizing committee:

Salvatore Vitale (chair)
B. Sathyaprakash
Emanuele Berti


  • Aaron Tohuvavohu
  • Adam Boesky
  • Alessandra Corsi
  • Alexander Nitz
  • Amber Strunk
  • Andre Guimaraes
  • Andrew Tolley
  • Antonella Palmese
  • Anuradha Samajdar
  • April Cheng
  • Archisman Ghosh
  • Arnab Dhani
  • B Sathyaprakash
  • Barry Wardell
  • Becca Ewing
  • Ben Farr
  • Bhooshan Gadre
  • Boris Goncharov
  • Bryce Cousins
  • Cameron Mills
  • Carl Rodriguez
  • Carl-Johan Haster
  • Carolyn Raithel
  • Cecilia Chirenti
  • Charlie Kilpatrick
  • Cole Miller
  • Collin Capano
  • Daichi Hiramatsu
  • David Shoemaker
  • Divya Singh
  • Edo Berger
  • Eleanor Hamilton
  • Eli Visbal
  • Elias Most
  • Evan Hall
  • Fabio Pacucci
  • Floor Broekgaarden
  • Francisco Jimenez Forteza
  • Geoffrey Mo
  • Gregorio Carullo
  • Gustavo Marques-Tavares
  • Helvi Witek
  • Huan Yang
  • Jack Heinzel
  • Jacquelyn Michelle Noronha-Hostler
  • Jakub Klencki
  • Jenny Greene
  • Jose Maria Ezquiaga
  • Josh Grindlay
  • Julie McEnery
  • Kate Daniel
  • Kaze Wong
  • Kenta Hotokezaka
  • Kenta Kiuchi
  • Kevin Burdge
  • Kiranjyot Gill
  • Kohei Inayoshi
  • Lan Q. Nguyen
  • Lieke van Son
  • Lionel London
  • luis lehner
  • Macarena Lagos
  • Magdalena Siwek
  • Mark Hannam
  • Martyna Chruslinska
  • Maryam Hussaini
  • Masha Baryakhtar
  • Maya Fishbach
  • Melize Ferrus
  • Michael Zevin
  • Michalis Agathos
  • Michela Mapelli
  • Monica Gallegos-Garcia
  • Nadia Qutob
  • Nehal Mittal
  • Peter Couvares
  • Philippe Landry
  • Pippa Cole
  • Poonam Chandra
  • Priyanka Giri
  • Rahul Kashyap
  • Reed Essick
  • Rhondale Tso
  • Rory Smith
  • Rossella Gamba
  • Sanika Khadkikar
  • Sarah Caudill
  • Sarah Gossan
  • Sarah Shandera
  • Surabhi Sachdev
  • Susanna Vergani
  • Suvodip Mukherjee
  • Swetha Bhagwat
  • Sylvia Biscoveanu
  • Tassos Fragos
  • Thomas Callister
  • Tousif Islam
  • Vicky Kalogera
  • Vijay Varma
  • Vishal Baibhav
  • Will Farr
  • William East
  • Yifan Wang
  • Yuexing Li
Salvatore Vitale