Workshop VIII on Streaming Readout

America/New_York (Virtual)


Douglas Hasell (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Welcome to Workshop VIII on Streaming Readout

The workshop will be held online April 28-30.

Please register via the link to the left.  The password to the Zoom link will be sent to the registered participants.

This web page and the links to the left are public but to upload material you will need to login.  Please see "Joining this workshop" on the left for instructions.

The purpose of this workshop is to bring together researchers interested in detector design, electronics, data acquisition, and analysis to present and discuss ways to realize a streaming readout system for future nuclear and particle physics experiments.

Streaming readout leverages the advances in electronics and computing to achieve continuous readout of all detector signals without requiring a "trigger" as was common in traditional readout schemes.  This enables detector signal processing, zero suppression, and extraction of signal information (amplitude, timing, integrated charge, etc.) using ASIC chips or FPGAs in parallel on the data streams with unbiased event selection and reconstruction downstream with online computer processing in clusters of CPUs or GPUs.

Almost all future experiments, particularly future EIC experiments, will use streaming readout in some form.  Furthermore, many existing experiments are converting to a streaming readout paradigm.  The purpose for this workshop is to present current work and plans, illustrate existing designs and available hardware, and to discuss signal processing, data formats, software libraries, and networking. The goal is to achieve a common streaming readout framework that can be used by many experiments.

Everyone is welcome to attend, listen, and participate in the discussion but we are very interested in the work you are doing in this area and invite you to give a brief (20 minute) presentation on your detector, expected data rate, and readout strategy.  Please contact if you would be willing to give a presentation.

Group Photo

  • Alexander Bazilevsky
  • Alexandr Zaytsev
  • Alexandre Camsonne
  • Alexandre Tkatchev
  • Anatoly Kulikov
  • Andrew Levy
  • Ayman Al-bataineh
  • Benjamin Moritz Veit
  • Brandon Clary
  • Bryan Moffit
  • Carl Timmer
  • Carlo Tintori
  • Carlos Ayerbe Gayoso
  • Chris Cuevas
  • Christopher Crawford
  • Churamani Paudel
  • Dalius Baranauskas
  • Damien Neyret
  • David Abbott
  • David Lawrence
  • David Morrison
  • Douglas Hasell
  • Douglas Higinbotham
  • Ed Jastrzembski
  • Elke-Caroline Aschenauer
  • Ernst Sichtermann
  • Esko Mikkola
  • Ethan Cline
  • Fernando Barbosa
  • Graham Heyes
  • Hamlet Mkrtchyan
  • Hanjie Liu
  • Hongwei Ke
  • Ievgen Lavrukhin
  • Igor Korover
  • Irakli Mandjavidze
  • Isar Mostafanezhad
  • Ivica Friščić
  • Jan Bernauer
  • Jeff Landgraf
  • Jin Huang
  • Jin Huang
  • Joachim Schambach
  • Joe Osborn
  • John Lajoie
  • Kevin Flood
  • Leonid Afanasyev
  • Marco Battaglieri
  • Marco Bregant
  • Marco Locatelli
  • Mariangela Bondì
  • Mark Jones
  • Markus Diefenthaler
  • Martin Purschke
  • Maurizio Ungaro
  • Maxim Potekhin
  • Meifeng Lin
  • Michael Finger
  • Ming Liu
  • Miroslav Finger
  • Paul King
  • Phaneendra Bikkina
  • Provakar Datta
  • Rolf Ent
  • Ross Corliss
  • Sandeep Miryala
  • Sanghwa Park
  • Scott Barcus
  • Sergey Boyarinov
  • Sergey Furletov
  • Shigeki Misawa
  • Stephen Wood
  • Takao Sakaguchi
  • Torre Wenaus
  • Vardan Gyurjyan
  • William Gu
  • Xuan Li
  • Yasser Corrales Morales
  • Yi Huang
  • Zhaozhong Shi